Carnegie Medal

Shadowing the Carnegie Medal

The Carnegie Medal is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children.

  • It was established in 1936, in memory of the great Scottish-born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919). Carnegie was a self-made industrialist who made his fortune in steel in the USA. His experience of using a library as a child led him to resolve that "if ever wealth came to me that it should be used to establish free libraries."
  • Carnegie set up more than 2800 libraries across the English speaking world and, by the time of his death, over half the library authorities in Great Britain had Carnegie libraries.
  • First awarded to Arthur Ransome for ‘Pigeon Post’, the winner receives a golden medal and £500 worth of books to donate to a library of their choice.
  • The medal is awarded by CILIP: the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals.
  • The Upper 4 Library Monitors are busy reading their way through the current shortlist and will be voting for the one they think deserves the medal.

2016 Shortlist

  • The Lie Tree – Frances Hardinge
  • One -  Sarah Crossan
  • Fire Colour One – Jenny Valentine
  • Five Children on the Western Front – Kate Saunders
  • The Ghosts of Heaven – Marcus Sedgwick
  • There will be Lies – Nick Lake
  • The Rest of Us Just Live Here – Patrick Ness
  • Lies we tell ourselves – Robin Talley

2016 WINNER – One / Sarah Crossan